Promoting my Photography… it’s all go again!

After a two year break due to the pandemic and crippling anxiety I’m finally getting back out into the world to promote my photography!

Earlier this month, I took part in a craft fair, which was the first one I’d done since 2019. I had a lovely pitch outside Bridge Cottage in Uckfield, where I had a selection of mounted prints and cards for sale. I also had several prints from my online Folksy shop for sale as well. In fact promoting my online shop was one of the reasons for doing the craft fair. Back in the new year (after months of neglect) I gave my shop a new name (Nature Inspired) and a bit of a make-over, and thought this craft fair would be an ideal opportunity to promote it in person.

The other reason for doing the craft fair was that I was using it as a warm up for an event that I’m exhibiting in next month. After two plus years of not taking part in exhibitions I feel a little out of practice and felt I needed to ease myself back in gently (especially as my anxiety is still challenging).

It felt really good getting back out and talking to people about my photography and my love of nature. I told several people that I was a dendrophile (a person who loves trees), and explained to people that I found it incredibly therapeutic photographing places like the Ashdown Forest and the rugged coast of Cornwall. I had some lovely feedback from people who were very impressed with my photographs and amazed that some of them (the six inch prints that I sell online), were taken using my iPhone.

Although I had been really nervous about doing the craft fair because of my anxiety issues, I really enjoyed it and was glad that I took part. It gave me the chance to share and promote my photography in a way that wasn’t too overwhelming and I made some sales, which is always encouraging!

Since then I’ve been busy preparing for the Uckfield Art Fair, which is taking place on Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd July. I will be one of forty artists exhibiting art and craft next week at the Civic Centre in Uckfield. As well as other photographers, there’s painters, sculptors, printmakers, ceramicists, and other craftspeople.

It’s been ages since I took part in an exhibition like this so it’s a bit daunting, but I’m looking forward to showing my photography again and getting together with other local Sussex artists who are super talented (some of which I haven’t seen in years)!

I’m using the exhibition as an opportunity to show prints that I previously displayed at the 2018 solo exhibition, which included images taken in the Ashdown Forest, the New Forest and Cornwall. Here’s a sneak peek of some of the framed images I’ll be displaying at the exhibition (along with a variety of mounted prints and cards)…

If you’re free Friday 1st – Saturday 2nd July, then come have a look. There will be a Grand Opening between 7-9pm on the Friday evening, which you’re welcome to attend. See below for more details!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.